Historique


In the most unique and traditional methods of producing great wine.

Château Taillefer Lafon is the first vineyard in Quebec authorized to use the appellation "Château", traditionally reserved for distinctive european vineyards, as Château Taillefer Lafon has just proudly completed the construction of a sumptuous estate of equivalent stature to its name.

The ancestors of Taillefer Family have been farming in the city of Laval since the early nineteenth century.

In 1976, Jean-François Taillefer, notary, wishing to return to his roots, acquired, with his family, a farm, part of their ancestral lands. This exceptional property with fertile limon left by the ancient Champlain Sea, millions of years ago, is located on Montée Champagne. What a predestined name!

Being, to this day, the most important producers of grapes from noble vines (vitis vinifera) in the Province of Quebec, Château Taillefer Lafon offers a vast array of international caliber and exceptional quality products.

A most noble beginning…

In its first year of existence, Château Taillefer Lafon participated in the prestigious Montreal international wine contest "Les Sélections Mondiales des Vins, 2004". The two products presented, the Ice Wine and the Ice Cider were given a gold medal and a silver medal respectively. Furthermore, the Château received, for its Ice Wine, the prestigious international "Vinofed" trophee rewarding the best of the 2,300 products representing 30 countries at the contest.

Historique


Dans la plus pure tradition des grands vins…

Château Taillefer Lafon est le premier vignoble au Québec autorisé à utiliser le terme « Château ». Cette désignation, traditionnellement réservée aux grands vignobles européens, est fièrement justifiée par l’édification d’une somptueuse construction répondant à ce type d’appellation.

En rétrospective, c’est au début du 19e siècle, que les ancêtres de la famille Taillefer ont cultivé des terres sur le territoire de la ville de Laval.

En 1976, Jean-François Taillefer, notaire, voulant retourner aux sources, se porte acquéreur, avec sa famille, d’une ferme sur le territoire ancestral. Ces terres exceptionnelles au limon fertile laissé par l’ancienne Mer de Champlain, il y a des milliers d’années, sont situées aujourd’hui sur la Montée Champagne. Quel nom prédestiné !

Étant, à ce jour, le plus important producteur québécois de raisins provenant de " vignes nobles " (vitis vinifera), le Château Taillefer Lafon propose une gamme de produits de qualité exceptionnelle et de niveau international.

Un départ des plus noble…

Dans sa première année d'existence, Château Taillefer Lafon a participé au prestigieux concours international de Montréal «Les Sélections Mondiales des Vins 2004». Les deux produits présentés soit : le vin de glace et le cidre de glace, se sont mérités respectivement une médaille d'or et une médaille d'argent. De plus, le château s'est vu décerner, pour son vin de glace, le grand trophée " Vinofed " qui récompense le meilleur des 2300 produits en lice présentés par plus de 30 pays.